Spinach and Mushroom Gnocchi

Mmmmmm num num num! I saw on one of my Facebook recipe swap pages a woman talking about making gnocchi, butternut squash, and kale for dinner. It sounded sooooo good that I had to make some immediately! For this go round I did not try to conquer making my own gnocchi but I do see this being in my near future. I, instead, bought a good dairy/egg free gnocchi from the grocery store.
I made this for lunch and really wanted to make it kid friendly so I used mushrooms and spinach. Your probably thinking how is that kid friendly? Well, my kids happen to love mushrooms and don’t seem to mind cooked spinach as long as it is paired with other flavors. I also had some beef bouillon on hand and in the spirit of keeping things simple I stopped there. I decided that was plenty to satisfy us quickly for lunch.

1 package of good quality store bought gnocchi (Keep your allergies in mind, there seems to be a good variety out there to suit just about anyone. I picked a dairy/egg free variety)
8 oz sliced mushrooms
2 big handfuls of fresh spinach
4 TBSP Vegan Butter
1 TBSP Beef Boullion Powder
1 TBSP Flour
1 Cup Water
Salt & Pepper to tast

Cook gnocchi according to package directions. In a separate large frying pan melt the butter over medium high heat then add mushrooms. Once mushrooms are tender add flour and combine until completely dissolved and thick. Add water and bouillon, mix, bring to a boil, add spinach and reduce heat. Add salt and pepper to taste. Gently mix in gnocchi and serve:).
What a yummy treat for the fall!

Tip: a can of diced tomatoes would have made this super yummy as well. Unfortunately my daughter has not been taking well to tomatoes so I Sid not get to try it.

20111013-011603.jpg

Leave a Reply

