Raegans Toaster Strudels

So getting sweets is a huge challenge when one is allergic to dairy and egg; throw in the rest of Raegan’s allergies and its nearly impossible. But I am determined to find more than an oreo or an apple to cure my sweet cravings. I figured why not start with breakfast!!

I was grocery shopping last week and as usual the sweet old ladies were all stationed and ready in the middle of the grocery aisles with their food samples and coupons. Although toaster strudels are not something I normally buy, when that sweet old lady handed my son a little cup filled with a giant piece of hot gooey toaster strudel and shoved 2 for 1 coupons in my cart I couldn’t shut her down. Sitting across the table watching Cooper eat his toaster strudels the next morning was pure agony, they looked and smelled soooo good; I couldn’t help but think about how one day Raegan was going to feel the same way. Then suddenly out of the sky fell a box of frozen puff pastry and I knew exactly how to make my own toaster strudel….Ok so the puff pastry didn’t fall out of the sky, but that would have been awesome. I honestly don’t know what made me think of using puff pastry to make some homemade toaster strudels but I thought it was pretty genius and of course Allergy FREE!!

First I started by dusting a little flour on my work surface so the thawed puff pastry wouldn’t stick. Then my son and I rolled it out with a rolling-pin until it was about 2 inches larger on each side.  Then I cut the pastry dough to match the size of a toaster strudel. You can use anything to do this, I used a Tupperware container.

Next I filled every other puff pastry square with a tablespoon of my favorite blackberry preserves. I also had a dab of dairy free cream cheese to one for something a little more fun.  Then, with a little water, I sealed the filled puff pastry with the unfilled puff pastry creating a kind of pillow or pocket. 

 

  Then for the really easy part. I stuck it in the oven on 350 for about 20-30 minutes until golden brown. While it was baking I made a simple powdered sugar glaze using soy milk. (1 Cup powdered sugar, 1 1/2 Tablespoons soymilk, and 1/4 teaspoon vanilla). You can’t eat a toaster strudel without the yummy icing that goes on top.

Once the puff pastry was golden brown I took them out of the oven and let them cool off. I drizzled a little icing on top and then inhaled them! Dont worry I didn’t eat them all, I shared some with my kids too!

One response

  1. Fantastic idea!!! I am definitely gonna try these at home…of course for me and Charlie. No kids to share with, but that makes more for us!

Leave a comment